Graffiti photowalk in Johannesburg

Finally, a post about photography

I went on my first photo walk today. It was a series of first for me in fact:

  • First time I have shot in raw only.
  • First time I have only shot in full manual or aperture mode.
  • First time I have shot “HDR compatible” shots (thanks to Pascal for showing me how. Of course, now he has to show me how to process them 🙂 )
  • First time I have ever shot with a prime lens (thanks to Craig who saw me using my 18-55mm kit lens and promptly took his 50mm f/1.4 prime off his 5D for me to use).

Of course, shooting only in manual for most of the time, I sometimes forgot to check the exposure meter and some of the shots were woefully overexposed. Learning curve…..

I can happily say, I have learn’t more in the last couple of hours than I have in the previous couple of months. Like the stock straps on DSLR’s could not be more uncomfortable if they were made from barbed wire 🙂

Anyways, here are a couple of my shots (unprocessed).

Leave a Reply

