My Photography

My photography – The beginning

 Disclaimer: I am not a professional photographer. I am not even an amateur. At best, I am a hobbyist photographer who has a lot to learn. These posts are as much a learning tool for me as they (I hope) are an informative tool for you. Any criticism by me is based solely on limited knowledge and at times, ignorance.
 

I have always had an interest in photography. This stems back from my childhood when my parents bought a Polaroid Instamatic camera.

In later years, my father bought himself a Ricoh KR-5 SLR which I later “inherited”

The KR-5 had a couple of lenses including a wide angle and telephoto zoom. It also had a flash and it all came in a genuine leather camera bag (yes, it *was* that long ago).

Alas, the Ricoh was liberated from my possession not long after the first democratic elections here in South Africa, but I digress…

What followed was a long, and sometimes tortuous journey into the early years of digital photography (well, at the consumer end at least).

I started with a circa early 1990’s Samsung and worked my way up to my last point and shoot FujiFilm A610 (which still does admirable duty as my “spare”).

My Current Kit

My first DSLR is a Canon EOS 500D. It is a 15MP APS-C consumer grade camera. It shipped with the obligatory Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens as a kit. At the time, it was the top of the consumer grade cameras having superseded the EOS 450D.

I firmly believe that this is one of the better cameras to learn to shoot with as whilst it is a good camera, its abilities cannot really flatter you and hide your mistakes.

I also am the proud owner of a Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens. This is a pukka “prosumer” lens and it shows. The build quality, the USM drive, everything screams “I aint a kit lens”. In a way, it helps me in my belief that “I am past the kit lens stage”.

I also found my way into a Canon Speedlite EX430 which works a treat.

Other than that, a couple of high speed SD cards and my trusty FujiFilm A610 appear in my camera bag.

In my next instalment, I will go into my likes and dislikes of my EOS 500D and the types of photography that interest me.

Leave a Reply

