Lookit what Santa brought….

So, Santa was really kind to me this year and brought me a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II lens. (Well, truth be told, they were 50% off at the Canon Expo at the beginning of December).

Having used a 50mm f/1.4 a couple of times previously, I was  little concerned that I may be disappointed with quality compared to the f/1.4. I should not have been worried. Other than the “lesser build quality” of the f/1.8, it manages to produce near faultless images (let down only by my incompetence).

Here are a couple of sample images from Christmas Day.

IMG_5229 IMG_5166 IMG_5164IMG_5157

I have loaned a couple of “macro tubes” from my neighbour, Pascal. Can’t wait to give them a try as I have never done any form of marco photography (which figures since I don’t own a macro lens 🙂 )

I will report back on my endeavors after I get the hang of it.

Leave a Reply

